Guest Testimonials and Reviews / Creole Cottage

Luxury Cabin Vacation Rental in Southern Illinois

When planning for a trip, you want to learn all you can before committing to a reservation. Pictures are great and help tell the story, but reviews give you a view from the inside. We encourage each and every one of our guests to share their experiences/reviews as a way to help provide insight for future visitors. Our goal is to provide the best accommodations and experience as possible. We truly appreciate the time taken by our guests to provide their invaluable feedback.
We've gathered some guest comments and reviews that have been sent to us, pulled from our cabin notebook, and other places such as facebook to help guide your decision as to what you are searching for in your much anticipated getaway.

The Hollow Reviews | The Cove Reviews

Reviews from Facebook, Yelp, Google+...

Creole Cottage Honeymoon

Rocky Comfort Cabins far exceeded our expectations! Gorgeous cabin, very clean with luxurious bedding and towels. The kitchen had a variety of appliances, dishes, and definetly met basic pantry needs. The deck was beautiful in itself with a great grill and outside sitting area: add the view of Blue Sky's grapes and even more amazing! Great location within the wine trail - walk to Blue Sky (short enough we carried a case of wine and glasses of sangria home!) quick drive to grassy lake (kayaking), and close to state park (hiking.) We thank Ed and Nancy for their hospitality and allowing us to enjoy this beautiful spot!
Hayley and Montana | Wisconsin | August 2017
This was our second time staying and we love it. Cabin is gorgeous. Hospitality of the owners is wonderful. We love everything about it. Such a nice relaxing getaway.
Lindsay and Matt | Illinois | August 2017
We recently spent 3 days in the Creole House at Rocky Comfort Cabins. The accommodations were fabulous and we will definitely return for another stay. It was so clean, furnished with every condiment and anything you might need. The setting gave you privacy along with great scenery.
Larry and Barbara | Illinois | June 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Creole house! It was such a nice get away! The hot tub was our favorite and everything was clean and nice. You guys offer great hospitality! We can't wait to come back!
Alys and Kyle | Missouri | April 2017
Our "new" favorite place and only a couple hours from home! My husband and I stayed at the Creole House in early March.. We absolutely loved everything about it! In the mornings we sat out on the East side of the wrap around porch with our coffee in the evening we sat on the West side enjoying wine and the sunset! The scenery was beautiful and so peaceful. We went hiking and I loved that we could see so much without the leaves on the trees! Enjoyed the hot tub, and grilling out as well as Blue Sky Vineyard. We had the pleasure of visiting with Ed (The owner) . He can tell you everything you need to know about the Shawnee Hills. We hope to meet Nancy the next time we return to relax and leave our busy lives behind for a little while! Thank you Ed and Nancy for clean and comfortable accommodations😊 We highly recommend Rocky Comfort Cabins for a relaxing getaway!
Sharon and Paul | Illinois | March 2017
Private and Relaxing! My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Creole House - the largest of the 3 cabins at Rocky Comfort Cabins. The property is off the beaten path about 20 minutes south of Marion, IL near Giant City State Park. With a view of the Shawnee National Forrest and amazing sunsets, the Creole house provided us with a secluded and romantic getaway. Even though there are 2 other cabins (Hobbit style) on the property, we rarely heard of saw anyone else. The Creole is a French inspired house that is perfect for a couple, but can accommodate 4 people as it has 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. We enjoyed the wrap around porch as we sat out and watched the approaching storms a few afternoons, lightening show and all, and stayed nice and dry. The king bed in the master suite was comfortable with high quality linens. The owners Ed and Nancy provided excellent communication from the time of the booking and even after we checked out. The hospitality was better then any 5 star hotel. There was a small hiccup with checkin as the prior guests created some clean up head aches, but Ed promptly notified us of the issue and resolved it quickly. We enjoyed the small touches Show More...such as bakery treats and fresh eggs waiting for us when we are arrived. A full kitchen stocked with olive oil, fresh bean coffee, spices, dishes, and wine glasses. It was perfect. They even had a blender and waffle maker. Also had use of a nice gas grill outside on the patio. The best feature was the huge 6 person hot tub outside. They provided spa quality turkish bathrobes to wear from the house to the hot tub - all of about 20 steps out the back door. Soaking in 104 degree water was so relaxing. The stars so bright being so far from the city. We got to hear the coyotes, see some deer out on the prairie, and hear lots of bluebirds. Got to see some amazing sunsets from the hot tub. So secluded and private. They also have solar power and are eco friendly with cabin's construction. We walked the 5 minutes though the mowed path from the Creole house over to Bly Sky Winery next door - you can't see the winery from the house, just the vines. So if you enjoy being off the grid but having the comforts of a nice hotel, but amazing peace and quite, do check out Rocky Comfort Cabins. They are about a 5 minute drive from Panther Den wilderness area - a great hike to see rock formations that a so much better then the Giant City trails. Also about 7 minutes from Shawnee Zipline - my wife did therir tour - 3 hour canopy tour - and thought is was such fun -- you get $10 off when you tell them you staying at Rocky Comfort cabins. We so much enjoyed our stay we will be returning. Thank you Ed and Nancy for a love you put into your cabins and the wonderful hospitality you provide....Show Less
Jason and Katy | Illinois | March 2017
Wife and I are on our last evening of a 3 night stay and it has been an outstanding place to stay. The creole house is clean and perfect. The hot tub is the cleanest and nicest one we have ever used. We plan on making this a yearly stay.
David and Trisha | Illinois | February 2017
A weekend retreat away from concrete and kids and traffic and the noise of life was delivered to us with stunning accommodations in this Creole House. The cabin was very well thought out with just the perfect touches everywhere from the linens, kitchen furnishings, gas grill, fireplace & yes, we braved the hot tub despite the 17 degree nights! Giant City State Park had a great couple trails to get lost in. We even bundled up and headed to Garden of the Gods with picnic in tow. Well worth the trip! Yellow Moon Cafe – cute, good sammies. But mostly enjoyed going to Blue Sky and listening to the spanish guitar player and then walking back here to the comfort here. You all have thought of everything! Best weekend ever!
Pamela and Charlie/ Missouri
Charlie and Pam came back for another time and Charlie proposed :) Congratulations!
Ed and Nancy
We had such a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. The hot tub is great and we didn't take those robes off the entire weekend!
It is so peaceful out here. When you turn all the lights and TVs off, it's just silence, which is perfect. The cabin is beautiful - everything is so clean and well kept. We will definitely be back - thank you!
Niki and Rob

He Proposed!


Our weekend here has been amazing! Hank surprised me by proposing on the deck at sunset. It was perfect! We enjoyed everything about the cabin, not to mention the beautiful scenery all around. We can't wait to come back again! Thanks so much for everything!!!
Hank and Lyndsey/ Herrin, Il
We had a wonderful stay. Thank you for all of the recommendations. The hike to Panther's Den was beautiful. We had a great time at all the wineries. Your cabin is beautiful and we plan to be back again this time next year. Thanks for a great weekend away.
Ricky and Amy/ Belleville, Il

Thank you for a wonderful stay to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary! It was perfect! Also, thank you for the decadent chocolate dessert in the fridge! Such a sweet surprise! The Hot Tub was great and the robes were amazing. Overall, we were very impressed w/the cleanliness and well-equipped cabin! You thought of everything for a relaxing, worry-free stay! While we were here, we went horseback riding and walked to Blue Sky Vineyards! We enjoyed both alot! We can't wait to visit again and bring our two boys next time! Thanks again for a perfect evening away from home.
Definitely an anniversary to remember!
Brad and Amber/ Sullivan, Il
Awesome place! What a birthday present from my honey. From the coffee mill to the stunning stars at the hot tub. This was an incredible weekend! Seems southern Illinois has yet another treasure! Thanks Nancy and Ed.
Rich/ Carbondale, Il
So peaceful here! We had an absolutely lovely time and the cabin with all its treasures could not have been more perfect. The only suggestion we had was that an enclosure to the hot tub not cover the stars if possible :) It was very cool to look up and gaze at the universe- I saw two glorious shooting stars. Thanks for creating such an oasis.
Christine/ Carbondale, Il
Dear R and C,
The new beautiful pavilion still allows you to see the stars surrounding the hot tub and ensures even more privacy! The roof helps keep the hot tub toasty and cozy in the winter. :)
Ed and Nancy
We had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect and so secluded. It was just what we were looking for. All the little extras (the robes, sheets, danish, etc.) were great. We did not leave all weekend. We just enjoyed the cabin.
We also enjoyed the hot tub. I see where there is something - you should remove the hot tub roof, but if it hadn't been for the roof we wouldn't have been able to use it. It was snowing. It was wonderful sitting in the hot tub watching it snow.
Thanks again for allowing us to enjoy your cabin.
Brad and Selena/ McLeansboro, Il
Brett and I enjoyed truly enjoyed our stay at the Creole House. The planning that went into building the cabin was spot on. Ed & Nancy thought of everything! The views, the hot tub, the seclusion.. everything was perfect. Thank you for a wonderful stay. I'm not sure how to top Brett's birthday present for next year. Maybe we'll make this a yearly get away. Thanks again for everything!
Regina/ Southern Ilinois

What a perfect birthday getaway for Kurt. We both really enjoyed our stay. The treats and kind note that we were greeted with set the tone for a perfect weekend. Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us.
We will definitely be back again.
Kurt and Melissa/ Labadie, Mo

Kyle and I had a wonderful time here. You have a beautiful cabin. The hot tub was very relaxing. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet.
We enjoyed dinner one night at Trails End Lodge which was a neat experience with cooking on the lava hot rock. We tried going to Giant City State Park for breakfast but they were closed for the season. So we ended up going to Harbaugh Cafe which was very good food and nice atmosphere. Thank you for the desserts for my birthday. That was a very nice gesture of kindness and thoughtfullness!! Hopefully our next stay will be in the Hobbit House.
The Dickens

Thank you for a wonderful stay to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary! It was perfect! Also, thank you for the decadent chocolate dessert in the fridge! Such a sweet surprise! The Hot Tub was great and the robes were amazing. Overall, we were very impressed w/the cleanliness and well-equipped cabin! You thought of everything for a relaxing, worry-free stay! While we were here, we went horseback riding and walked to Blue Sky Vineyards! We enjoyed both alot! We can't wait to visit again and bring our two boys next time! Thanks again for a perfect evening away from home.
Definitely an anniversary to remember!
Brad and Amber/ Sullivan, Il

Thank you for creating this amazing place. It took us about 24 hrs to start referring to this place as "home" when we were out on our jaunts. You really forgot nothing as far as amenities and those special touches. We will treasure the four nights we spent here and will be back again. It was good meeting you personally Ed
John and Kathyrn/Troy, Il

What an awesome place you have here. We have stayed at a lot of places like this in the past, but this by far is the nicest!
Very clean and comfy and wished we could have stayed longer! Back to face reality though.
Nice to have spoken with you, Ed, and applaud your excellent workmanship (and with yours, Nancy) for such wonderful work on the cabins. It truly shows!
We will definitely make plans to be back and maybe stay in the Hobbit House. Thanks for the "sweet treat" upon our arrival - very thoughtful. We will always remember our 35th anniversary and your hospitality! Best wishes,
Rick and Deb/ Fairview Heights, Il

Wow! What a great place! Everything is perfect. It is obvious how much love and labor was put into constructing this house. There were no shortcuts. Everything was first class.
Love the layout, the serene setting, views, wrap-around porch, hot tub, firepit, etc., etc., etc.! Thank you Ed and Nancy for your hospitality and for providing such a perfect getaway.
We WILL be back! Tom and Terri/ St. Louis, Mo

Can't thank you enough for creating and sharing this wonderful cabin. We enjoyed every second of our stay. You have done such a good job making sure that every comfort is addressed from the functional design of the cabin, to beds, baths, and hot tub. We loved the cookies...we each had one before we even started to unpack :) What a nice welcome!!
If all goes well, we will definitely return.
Diane and Bob/Belleville, Il

Creole House is one amazing place! Our stay was beautiful and we are seriously considering moving down here :) We got to visit all but 2 wineries (Kite Hill and Honker) and of course, loved them all. The owner at Hickory Ridge is AWESOME!. Also, we bought enough wine to last us a year...
Panther's Den Trail is a must - quiet, secluded, beautiful sandstone caves at the end. And right down the street! I stumbled upon what I thought was a chupacabra, but turned out to be a turkey vulture fledgling nest (gross!) but is was pretty neat.
Also - go to Blue Boar in Cobden for really great BBQ and a beautiful view. Thank you guys, this was an amazing experience!
Ryan and Liz/Chicago, Il

We had a wonderful time here! The cabin is adorable and clean and the hot tub was awesome. It was our first getaway after having our first baby, Scarlett; and even though we miss her lots, we really didn't want to leave!! The only vineyard we went to was Blue Sky and we recommend walking the trail to get there!
Thank you for everything
Jake and Lyndsay/Champaign, Il

Your place is stunning! We had just such a peaceful and calm stay. All the additional perks - robes, apple treats, hot tub - really felt so cozy and welcoming that we forgot for a moment that we don't actually live here. And the lightning bug show!!! One of the coolest things we've ever seen - it trully took us by surprise one night as we were reading on the porch - what an awesome view! Those rolling hills and winery views in the backyard reminded me a lot of the place I grew up and maybe for a second I forgot about work on Monday :)
Really a fabulous place!
Joanna and Cj

We treated ourselves to a much needed long overdue getaway and picked the right place. The accommodations here were simply amzing whether inside or outside. The Blue Sky Winery "across the yard" added even more of a great time to share. Our weekend has become memorable with no regrets. We already decided we will be back again one day. We thank you for welcoming us.
Don and Christine

Thank you for your hospitality. We loved the cabin and ore excited to return My husband and I went to SIU in our college years and had a great time walking around campus and satisfying our Don Taco cravings :) We are returning home with a box full of So Ill wine! We will dfinitely plan for extra time on our next trip for all the things we didn't get to do this time
Rachel and Tom/East Peoria, Il

Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. It is truly a beautiful place, very peaceful and quiet. Beautiful, easy walk to Blue Sky. We really enjoyed and appreciated all the extra detail you have done to the cabin and can tell you care about your guests who stay here.
Gave us a much needed time together in a elaxing atmosphere to share and talk over life's blessings we take for granted. Thank you and God bless.
Vernon and Elaine | Teutopolis, Il | October 2016
Your beautiful cabin has been an amazing escape to celebrate our 15th anniversary in. We have enjoyed every single moment and are already planning our next visit. Your attention to detail has made our visit so relaxing and enjoyable. I quickly realized that I overpacked, especially when it came to cooking.
We were blessed with gorgeous weather for our 2 day stay, so we enjoyed drinking coffee on the deck in the morning and relaxing in the hot tub with a glass of wine at night.
This destination is truly good for the soul and we are so grateful for your hospitality. Can't wait to visit again!
James and Stacy/ Harristown, Il

Quite a place you have built here. Top of the line "everything" and such a perfect setting. Loved sitting on the porch on the warm evenings watching the deer in the field. Thank you for all the special touches - the flowers, candy, rolls and farm fresh eggs - you really thought of everything. Great place to come "home" to after hikes at Panther's Den, Little Grand Canyon, Giant City and Murphysboro State Park. Hoping to get down here again.
Thank you for a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big city.
MaryAnn and Jerry

This little 3 night getaway was a Christmas gift from our two younger daughters. We have really enjoyed ourselves, between the relaxing TV in from of the fireplace all the way to the extra long hike to Panther's Den - where we eventually got lost and a nice lady off the beaten path was nice enough to give us a ride back to our car. (Thank God for friendly country folks).
Besides that little mishap (which was quite funny now that we're back inside a warm cabin), this whole great-a-away has been wonderful. This little place is so cozy and romantic. Thanks for all the little "extras" that were awaiting our arrival, from the chocolates to all the extras in the bathroom, fridge and cabinets. You guys thought of everything. Weather was to cold to enjoy the fire pit but HOT TUB was just perfect (thanks to your robes). We loved Blue Sky Winery. What a beautiful place too. So many good things to write about but I will quit now. Thanks for showing us a great memory that we will never forget.
Sandy and Andy/ Albers, Il

We had a really great time. The place and the quiet was awesome. You couldn't have picked a better spot; the stars, deer, and especially the hot tub.
You have really out-done yourself with Rocky Comfort Cabins. We would like to return soon. Thanks for a great time and place.
Awesome!
Terry and Kenya

We absolutely loved this place! This is such a romantic, peaceful place to spend time together. We had such a great time here celebrating our 5 year anniversary! The beautiful flowers and the sweet note were so sweet as well as the fasty farm fresh eggs and the yummy dessert. This cute cabin is decorated so nicely - it feels like home :) We will definitely be back for another romantic getaway, but we want to stay in the Hobbit House next time - it will probably be just as wonderful as this house... thank you so much for making our anniversary one to remember! We will definitely see you guys in the next couple years!

David and Ashley/ Wentzville, MO

You guys have thought of everything - and then some! Your wonderful cabin far exceeded our expectations and we are very much hoping to return. We had a great, relaxing couple days of getaway. Love the proximity to Blue Sky and the path to walk there - and we had a very fun ziplining experience. Thank you for helping make this a perfect getaway for us.
Becky and Andy/ Blue Mound, Il

We had such a wonderful weekend here celebrating our fourth wedding annversary. Everything was relaxing, refreshing and good for our souls. You have created a beautiful place of rest here. Thank you for such a great experience and such a personal touch. We would love to come back again.!
Cheers!
Josh and Laura/

Thank you again for a wonderful stay at the Creole House. We had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful scenery.
We are glad we chose to come a second year in a row for our anniversary weekend away.
Amy and Ricky/ O'Fallon, Illinois

Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations and for helping to make our Christmas memorable!
We hiked Panther's Den which was great, but definitely took a toll on this old body! Thank you for the pastries and eggs. We made a delicious quiche on Christmas morning :)
Otis and Cheri/

Thank you for the dessert. We enjoyed it with the strawberries. We were able to visit about 4 vineyards in the area. Couldn't have been better weather. We enjoyed staying in the cabin and being able to relax, with peace and quiet. We would definitely come back. It was a great getaway to celebrate out 10th anniversary.
Lori and Steve | Joliet, Il | October 2016

Everything about this place is perfect! This is just what we needed for our anniversary get-away. I mearly mentioned an anniversary was the reason for our stay and you remembered and left a delicious dessert. The cabin is very nice. You two have done a great job. There is nothing you didn't think of. It's very comfortable here. We will be back!! Thanks again for a very relaxing nice place to stay.
Larry and Aimee Bradshaw | Decatur, Il | October 2016
November Facebook
Brand spanking new cabins on the wine trail between Blue Sky Vineyards and Orlandini Vineyards with wraparound country porch. You can crawl home from Blue Sky, no need to risk driving. Just two steps from Frontwards Farms organic gardens.
Christine P
The whole place is breath taking... perfect place to start your southern Illinois adventure
Misty
Quality comfort! Great personal touches. Loved the hot tub. The two full bathrooms were perfect for the four of us ladies! Loved the Creole House and can't wait to see how wonderful the Hobbit House turns out.
Patty
Everything could not be more perfect here. The cabin was beautiful and the amenities made our stay even better. Not to mention the hospitality shown to us by both Ed and Nancy. We will be staying here again someday, no doubt about that!!
Awesome Aubrey
We had an incredible time with our baby hiking and exploring the excellent wine and food the Shawnee wine trail has to offer! The cabin is new, clean, and clearly cared for, the owners are kind, personable, and accommodating, and the view was great! A five minute walk to beautiful Blue Sky vineyard, and with hiking trails on the property, this is an awesome place to hang in and relax, or branch out and explore!
Jason
They thought of everything! Brand new cabin, maybe a 5 minute walk to Blue Sky winery. And walking through the winery to get there just adds to the romantic aspect of it. Beautiful hardwood floors, an interior electric/gas fireplace that operates the ease of a light switch. Or you can always enjoy the outdoor fire pit. A full kitchen with pots, pans utensils, the works. Plush robes for venturing out to the hot tub, which is about 4 steps from the kitchen door. 2 steps if you want to use the outdoor gas grill. If the beauty and serenity of the rustic outdoors isn't all your thing, there is the full Direct TV setup in each of the 2 bedrooms and in the main living room. I work 2 jobs and regularly put in a 65 hour week; more during the holidays. My girlfriend has a stressfull job in a hospital and has two daughters she's raising on her own. This was the absolute perfect getaway, just the two of us, no phone, no work, no kids, no worries whatsoever except to decide which wineries or trails we want to visit that day. Completely relaxing, which was what I was looking for and Rocky Comfort Cabins delivered it in spades. I'd give it 6 stars if they let me. I will definitely be back.
Charlie!
We stayed here to get away and relax, even though we are local. This cabin was way beyond our expectations. It was so comfortable and homey, filled with every amenity you can think of. The hot tub was luxurious, the fireplace very comfortable and magical, a huge glass shower, an many minute Hobbit details contributed to the grandeur and enchantment of this cabin. It is very secluded and private. The owners went way above and beyond leaving personalized notes and details for us. Ed and Nancy were so sweet and kind! We were guests of theirs, not just a nights worth of money! It was a brief walk to Blue Sky Vineyards and even though it was snowy and icy it was still more than beautiful. We will definitely be back! Words cannot express how pleased we were with our experience; you'll just have to book a stay and try it for yourself!
Marissa Y
We had an incredible time with our baby hiking and exploring the excellent wine and food the Shawnee wine trail has to offer! The cabin is new, clean, and clearly cared for, the owners are kind, personable, and accommodating, and the view was great! A five minute walk to beautiful Blue Sky vineyard, and with hiking trails on the property, this is an awesome place to hang in and relax, or branch out and explore!
Jason D

Facebook


Rocky Comfort Cabins far exceeded our expectations! Gorgeous cabin, very clean with luxurious bedding and towels. The kitchen had a variety of appliances, dishes, and definitely met basic pantry needs. The deck was beautiful in itself with a great grill and outside sitting area: add the view of Blue Sky's grapes and even more amazing! Great location within the wine trail - walk to Blue Sky (short enough we carried a case of wine and glasses of sangria home!) quick drive to grassy lake (kayaking), and close to state park (hiking.) We thank Ed and Nancy for their hospitality and allowing us to enjoy this beautiful spot!
Haley and Montana | August 2017 | Wisconsin

TripAdvisor Review


My (new!) husband and I stayed at The Creole House for two evenings in order to celebrate our wedding. We had dreams of a long trek across Europe, but because of demanding careers, two nights were all we could spare. So we left St. Louis and headed to Southern Illinois for a few days of wine tasting, hiking, and relaxing. When we pulled up to the Creole House, we were blown away by the gorgeous architecture and stunning design. The house was impeccably clean and comfortable, and it offered every imaginable amenity including snuggly bathrobes for the hot tub. The owner left us delicious sweet treats from a local bakery to help us celebrate our honeymoon, and we spent the next two days having the time of our lives! We played cards by the fireplace, drank wine in the hot tub, hiked through Giant City State Park, and prepared decadent meals together. We could not have felt more at home, and we SO appreciated the small gestures of hospitality from the owners. I have already recommended this magical place to numerous friends, and feel so grateful for our beautiful experience!
Casey and Matt/ St. Louis, MO/

VRBO Review

We stayed a week and everyday was awesome!!! We loved every minute there. We were in the hot tub and we got to see a deer walking by!! The cabin was a lot more than what we expected from the inside to the outside!!! We couldn't of asked for more. The scene was beautiful!! We had three days by ourself and my mom, dad and our two boys joined us down there. Our boys even loved the hot tub!!! We were all sad when it was time to leave. If you have questions on things from best steak house to where is the best place to take kids fishing Ed and Nancy will answer any questions you may have!! Thank You again Ed and Nancy for the best honeymoon/ vacation ever!!! We can't wait to get to come back again!!!
Chad T
We had such a wonderful time this weekend! It was the pefect place to take a "mini-honeymoon" and get away from the business of life. The scenery was amazing and we got to see and hear all sorts of wildlife! I loved that we could go hiking and see some gorgeous views then come back to the cabin and hot tub or visit the wineries and relax. And it was such a lovely surprise getting to chat with you two! We had a great time! We can't wait to come back!
Felicia and Nikko/ Highland, In

Mother/Daughter Time, Sisters, Best Friends...


Thanks! Had a wonderful time! Enjoyed the Hot Tub, wineries, hiking, horse riding and a lot more. We'll for sure be back. You have a nice cozy cabin and felt so much at home. Best night sleep I have had in a long time
Susan and Anna/ Chicago, Il

What a well built and thoughout beautiful cabin! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful property with all the amazing nature accompanying :).
The wrap around porch was perfect for views in all directions. We especially enjoyed the hot tub visits - very relaxing and fun. We hope to revisit for a reunion!
Diana/ Plain City, Ohio

We had a great time staying here for our girls getaway to celebrate our 40th birthday. It was perfect for us. We really enjoyed the campfire and of course, the hot tub. We have all decided to "try" and make this a yearly event. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Thanks so much!

Certain you will hear from us again!
Jennifer, Heather, Jill, Beth and "the fifth" BFF Alma (Ali)/

We loved staying at this cabin for the weekend. It was so much more than a cabin. For the girls celebrating a bachelorette party it made the perfect place for a girl's weekend.
The winery being so close was great and we all loved how peaceful and quiet the area is. Thank you for everything, we have already started talking about our next visit.
Jasmine, Kristina, Jessica, Morgan, Nina, and Whitney/ Former Salukis!

You have built and maintained a lovely retreat. We came here for a couople of days for some R and R and were certainly pleased. It is quiet and peaceful, just what the Dr. Ordered. :) Of course, the spa like amenities help even more as we get pampered too! Thanks again for a lovely get away,
Becky, Breanna, and Jane/ Johnston City, Il

Thank you for your invisible hospitality. This cabin is SO beautiful and we really enjoyed staying here. We definitely are looking forward to coming back someday. Thank you for the muffins! As you can tell, they were very delicious. PS. We went to the Blue Sky Vineyard on Saturday during the Luau and won their hula hoop contest and got a $50 gift card! Needless to say we're going home with some goodies :) Thank you for everything!
Rebecca, Elizaabeth, Katy, and Kristen

We had a wonderful stay at the Creole House! Perfect fall weather the whole time. LOVED the hot tub.
Fave Hikes:
Ferne Clyffe
Fave Views:
Garden of the Gods
Fave Wineries:
Blue Sky, Rustle Hill, Pomona
Everything at the house was great. Very comfortable and homey. Thanks so much for the work you put into making it so nice. Loved the seclusion and the quiet as well. Would definitely return in the future!
Jami and Jason/Champaign, Il

We lucked out with a beautiful weekend. This was our first weekend away from our kids and it was exactly what we needed, relaxing and peaceful. We enjoyed spending the weeekend together, relaxing on the deck, hiking the nearby trails (we recommend Rocky Bluff trail if wanting a shorter hike 1.8 miles) and visiting some wineries!
This was the perfect escape from our busy lives! Februaryh/2016.
Chris and Kendra/Smithton, Il

Thank you for having us in your lovely cabin! A weekend away was exactly what we needed. Everything was absolutely perfect. We got to relax, hike, and enjoy the local wineries. Your cabin is perfect and we can't wait to return. Thank you again! March/2016.
Kevin and Jen/Smithton, Il

What a great place!! Close to Ferne Cliff, Giant City, Cache River, etc. My wife's favorite winery is right next door. We enjoyed the firepit in the fireplace. You have thought of everything---sooooo from us to you two, Thank you!
John and Anita | Carlinville, Il October 2016